One Text or Call Could Wreck it All

The use of cell phones while driving is a primary offense in Washington State yet it’s not hard to spot drivers ignoring the law and putting themselves and others at risk.  Talking or texting while driving could leavve you with a $124 ticket from law enforcement or much worse.  Inattention is a top contributing cause to collisions in Seattle (second only to failing to grant the right-of-way).  In 2010, 865 collisions were caused by inattention. 

According to the Washington Traffic Safety Commission, drivers using their cell phones are as impaired as drunk drivers who have a .08 percent blood-alcohol level and talking on a cell phone increases the chance of crashing by four times.  The risk of crashing increases as drivers take their eyes or their minds off the road, and in the process, lose focus on their primary responsibility of navigating a multi-ton object (a car or truck) along our streets and highways.  The federal government reports that 5,474 people were killed in crashes involving driver distraction, and an estimated 448,000 were injured in 2009 alone. 

Using your cell phone while driving is like gambling with your life and the lives of others – so just don’t do it!  Check out this video from www.distraction.gov about the dangers of using your phone behind the wheel.