Find Posts By Topic

What do grants, safe routes to school and oversight have in common?


Interested in hearing more about the amazing work done by the Seattle Department of Transportation’s (SDOT) Capital and Revenue Development Division?  Or learning more about the great work of the Safe Routes to School Program?  Or maybe you are just interested in getting an update on the work the Bridging the Gap Levy (BTG) program has completed so far this year.  If you want to learn about any of these items you are in luck!

The BTG Levy Oversight Committee has a meeting scheduled for October 29, 6 – 8 p.m., Seattle City Hall Boards and Commissions Room (L-230).    The committee is a dedicated group of 15 community members who meet quarterly to review and track the progress of the BTG transportation initiative that was passed by Seattle voters in 2006.  They are charged with ensuring SDOT is delivering on the promises made to voters. 

Committee members come from all across the city and from all walks of life.  They take their oversight and accountability role seriously and they work closely with SDOT to ensure that BTG not only meeting its goals, but that it is being integrated into the overall goals of the department and the City. 

The committee members include:

  • Ann Martin, Co-chair
  • Kristen Lohse, Co-chair
  • Ref Lindmark
  • Betty Seith-Croll
  • Renee Staton
  • John Coney
  • Jeremy Valenta
  • Barbara Wright
  • Chisula Chambers
  • Jessica Szelag, Bicycle Advisory Board member
  • Lydia Heard, Pedestrian Advisory Board member
  • David Mendoza, Freight Advisory Board member
  • Beth Goldberg, City Budget Director
  • Councilmember Tom Rasmussen, Transportation Committee Chair

All committee meetings are open to the public and residents are encouraged to attend and share their views on BTG during public comment. If you are interested in how your tax dollars are allocated, why not mark your calendar and join us next Tuesday for the last meeting of 2013. 

For more information, please visit BTG Levy Oversight Committee website.